Quantcast Fuel Pump Relay - Ford Truck Club Forum




Home






Forum






Gallery






Garage






Blog






Arcade






Settings






New Posts






TOTM






Vote




Remember Me?
       Join for free!




Search






How-To's






Unanswered






FTC Toolbar






Social Sites






Register




 
Ford Truck Club Forum > GARAGE TALK > Garage Talk: Shop Class 101



Welcome to FordTruckClub.net
Welcome to FordTruckClub.net, the internet's premier Ford truck community! You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view discussions and access other forum features. By joining our free online community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Forgot your password? click here.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 23rd, 2012, 10:44 PM
Ridgerunner's Avatar
Ridgerunner Ridgerunner is offline
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Back to NC one day
Posts: 1,589
Images: 60
Likes : 4
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Fuel Pump Relay

My 85 F150 5.0 drives great when cold or near operating temperature. After it gets hot my truck would surge,buck and didn't want to run. I knew it had to be something in the fuel system causing this. I changed the fuel filter,and did a complete tune up. Still had the problem.

I was told by a friend to check the fuel pump relay and he explained how to do diagnostics check on it before throwing money and parts at it.

1. Pull the relay to check for corrosion. I cleaned the relay since it had a lot of corrosion and plugged it back up.
2. I got my multi meter out to check how many volts it would pull with the key on. Anything less than 12 volts is bad. Mine showed 11 volts.

When a fuel pump relay gets over heated it will cause the symptoms I just described,there also other things I will need to check Monday to make sure the fuel regulator is up to snuff.
  #2  
Old March 23rd, 2012, 11:38 PM
BigBlue79's Avatar
BigBlue79 BigBlue79 is offline
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sapulpa, OK
Posts: 5,892
Images: 1113
Likes : 14
Liked 51 Times in 44 Posts
Default

How much does a Relay cost?
  #3  
Old March 23rd, 2012, 11:41 PM
Ridgerunner's Avatar
Ridgerunner Ridgerunner is offline
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Back to NC one day
Posts: 1,589
Images: 60
Likes : 4
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

$10.00 to $15.00 depending on what you need. The one I need is BWD for $15.00. The great part is being able to so a little work to make sure that is what needs to be replaced. I will be doing one for the fuel regulator,which is more involved but easy to do.
  #4  
Old March 24th, 2012, 10:40 PM
JSoko's Avatar
JSoko JSoko is offline

 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Northwest Georgia
Posts: 15,036
Images: 630
Likes : 34
Liked 188 Times in 170 Posts
Default

on the cleaning of the relay contacts
I have learned from experience that, Yes this will make it work, but go ahead and replace the relay cause its going to go out again real soon


For Those Who Fought For It...
Freedom Has A Taste The Protected Will Never Know.












  #5  
Old March 24th, 2012, 10:44 PM
Ridgerunner's Avatar
Ridgerunner Ridgerunner is offline
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Back to NC one day
Posts: 1,589
Images: 60
Likes : 4
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSoko View Post
on the cleaning of the relay contacts
I have learned from experience that, Yes this will make it work, but go ahead and replace the relay cause its going to go out again real soon
Yes that is true.I will replace the Relay Monday,I only cleaned the contacts so I could see how many volts it was putting out. Which showed it wasn't up to par and needs to be replaced.
  #6  
Old March 25th, 2012, 07:35 AM
JSoko's Avatar
JSoko JSoko is offline

 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Northwest Georgia
Posts: 15,036
Images: 630
Likes : 34
Liked 188 Times in 170 Posts
Default

keep in mind a relay is a relay; wether it has 3 connectors or 6 it can be made to work

I use a Ford horn relay in place of the starter relay on my Harleys its so much cheaper than the HD brand

and a lawn mower starter relay works fine in the Ford Tractor

so if you are ever in a pinch you can make something work, it may not have the same mountig hardware but it will work


For Those Who Fought For It...
Freedom Has A Taste The Protected Will Never Know.












  #7  
Old March 26th, 2012, 06:21 PM
Ridgerunner's Avatar
Ridgerunner Ridgerunner is offline
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Back to NC one day
Posts: 1,589
Images: 60
Likes : 4
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

I replaced the fuel pump relay today and tested the reading with the engine running. My meter showed 13 volts.


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


(View-All Members who have read this thread : 11
ALEXB , Aloomac , ASwaff400 , BigBlue79 , Booba5185 , DoubleDee , her , joe250 , JSoko , Ridgerunner , Russo2

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
smog air pump ? muddy1977 1973-1991 Ford F150
7 October 31st, 2013 05:02 PM
high volume oil pump jmoore704 1973-1991 Ford F150
6 October 28th, 2011 11:02 PM
Anyone ever remove their smog pump? nine5flareside 1992-1996 Ford F150
5 October 8th, 2010 11:00 AM
bronco ps upgrade/ psc or new pump ? mudman 1978-1979 Ford Bronco
4 July 8th, 2010 09:43 PM
Bought A New Water Pump nine5flareside 1992-1996 Ford F150
1 August 14th, 2009 09:55 PM

Tags
fuel , pump , relay

Forum Jump









FordTruckClub.net is not authorized, endorsed or affiliated with the Ford Motor Company
or any of their subsidiaries. Ford® is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6 Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.