Quantcast 1988 F150 Instrument Cluster Question - Ford Truck Club Forum




Home






Forum






Gallery






Garage






Blog






Arcade






Settings






New Posts






TOTM






Vote




Remember Me?
       Join for free!




Search






How-To's






Unanswered






FTC Toolbar






Social Sites






Register




 
Ford Truck Club Forum > FORD F-100 | F-150 SERIES > 1973-1991 Ford F150



Welcome to FordTruckClub.net
Welcome to FordTruckClub.net, the internet's premier Ford truck community! You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view discussions and access other forum features. By joining our free online community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Forgot your password? click here.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 12th, 2012, 12:16 AM
BigBlue79's Avatar
BigBlue79 BigBlue79 is offline
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sapulpa, OK
Posts: 5,892
Images: 1113
Likes : 14
Liked 51 Times in 44 Posts
Exclamation 1988 F150 Instrument Cluster Question

My new to me 88 has the standard instrument cluster(no tach) how hard is it to swap in the one with the tachometer? I'd like to see what this thing is revving up to when shifting but don't wanna wire in an aftermarket.
  #2  
Old January 12th, 2012, 12:39 AM
Russo2's Avatar
Russo2 Russo2 is offline
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,866
Images: 380
Likes : 39
Liked 23 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Should be a direct swap.
I will have to check back through my internet finds from before, but iirc, it should just plug in and be all there.
Have to set the mileage though, I would get out a drill and go to the end of the speedo cable from the transfercase and have fun ha
  #3  
Old January 12th, 2012, 12:42 AM
JSoko's Avatar
JSoko JSoko is offline

 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Northwest Georgia
Posts: 15,019
Images: 629
Likes : 34
Liked 187 Times in 169 Posts
Default

why would he "Have to set the mileage" ???
if he wants a tach


For Those Who Fought For It...
Freedom Has A Taste The Protected Will Never Know.












  #4  
Old January 12th, 2012, 12:43 AM
Booba5185's Avatar
Booba5185 Booba5185 is offline
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ava, MO
Posts: 2,705
Images: 747
Likes : 13
Liked 31 Times in 28 Posts
Default

I can verify it is plug and play. Might want to upgrade the oil pressure switch to a sender and modify the new (with tach) cluster while it's out...I can elaborate if you want me to. It basically makes the oil pressure switch worth something, and not just an idiot light.


89 F-150 5.0l AOD 2x4, 3.55 LS(+4), Converted to HO Roller, 3g Alt, GT40Ps, Y-pipe, Rerouted PCV, Dual Taurus E-fans, Explorer Injectors, Remote ICM, DIY Cold air, Rubber Vacuum System, Tranny cooler, Remote Tranny filter, Saginaw P\S swap, F350 Brakes, more.


  #5  
Old January 12th, 2012, 12:45 AM
Booba5185's Avatar
Booba5185 Booba5185 is offline
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ava, MO
Posts: 2,705
Images: 747
Likes : 13
Liked 31 Times in 28 Posts
Default

The 2 gauge clusters do not have an interchangeable speedometer, so the mileage would have to be reset on the new speedometer if he wants it to be correct.


89 F-150 5.0l AOD 2x4, 3.55 LS(+4), Converted to HO Roller, 3g Alt, GT40Ps, Y-pipe, Rerouted PCV, Dual Taurus E-fans, Explorer Injectors, Remote ICM, DIY Cold air, Rubber Vacuum System, Tranny cooler, Remote Tranny filter, Saginaw P\S swap, F350 Brakes, more.


  #6  
Old January 12th, 2012, 12:51 AM
BigBlue79's Avatar
BigBlue79 BigBlue79 is offline
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sapulpa, OK
Posts: 5,892
Images: 1113
Likes : 14
Liked 51 Times in 44 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Booba5185 View Post
The 2 gauge clusters do not have an interchangeable speedometer, so the mileage would have to be reset on the new speedometer if he wants it to be correct.
Let me get this right, I can swap the two, without having to change the wiring and all I have to do(if I want my mileage to be correct) is to match the mileage on the new one?

This cluster in it now has an oil pressure gauge, I thought they all did.
  #7  
Old January 12th, 2012, 12:58 AM
Russo2's Avatar
Russo2 Russo2 is offline
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,866
Images: 380
Likes : 39
Liked 23 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Precisely ken, plug and play.
The stock oil pressure is just a 6psi switch, motor gets 6psi, it reads somewhere in normal on the gauge.
Cross a diode or something like that on the switch and get a pre efi sender and it will sweep like a real gauge, without numbers.

Best part about the mileage is, it's super easy to change. And since there is no hundred thousand spot, it won't take long.
  #8  
Old January 12th, 2012, 01:00 AM
Booba5185's Avatar
Booba5185 Booba5185 is offline
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ava, MO
Posts: 2,705
Images: 747
Likes : 13
Liked 31 Times in 28 Posts
Default

Yes you can swap the cluster right in.

No, you don't have an oil pressure gauge, it's a glorified idiot light. It'd hooked up to oil pressure switch on the block, and once oil pressure hits at least 6 PSI, a 12 volt signal is produced. On the rear of the cluster is a resistor to reduce the voltage to about 5 volts. The gauge would typically peg all the way over to the right with a 12v signal, so this resister makes it "appear" to have an oil pressure gauge.

The modification is to use a bell-type oil pressure sender from a pre-87 truck that actually produces a varying voltage, based on oil pressure. It's a direct swap (the plumbing included), and then you have to bypass the resistor on the back of the cluster.


89 F-150 5.0l AOD 2x4, 3.55 LS(+4), Converted to HO Roller, 3g Alt, GT40Ps, Y-pipe, Rerouted PCV, Dual Taurus E-fans, Explorer Injectors, Remote ICM, DIY Cold air, Rubber Vacuum System, Tranny cooler, Remote Tranny filter, Saginaw P\S swap, F350 Brakes, more.


  #9  
Old January 12th, 2012, 01:06 AM
BigBlue79's Avatar
BigBlue79 BigBlue79 is offline
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sapulpa, OK
Posts: 5,892
Images: 1113
Likes : 14
Liked 51 Times in 44 Posts
Default

That's something I can't do yet, so it'll wait, I'm going to see about getting a cluster from the pull a part later this week, early next week and match up my mileage then swap'er in.

Thanks for the help guys!

If you could booba, post up how to bypass that resistor and I'll get to it later on down the road, thanks again for the help!
  #10  
Old January 12th, 2012, 01:09 AM
Booba5185's Avatar
Booba5185 Booba5185 is offline
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ava, MO
Posts: 2,705
Images: 747
Likes : 13
Liked 31 Times in 28 Posts
Default

While your at a Pick n pull look for the oil pressure sender, thats where I got mine, and they gave it to me (free). I'll go grab ya some pics...


89 F-150 5.0l AOD 2x4, 3.55 LS(+4), Converted to HO Roller, 3g Alt, GT40Ps, Y-pipe, Rerouted PCV, Dual Taurus E-fans, Explorer Injectors, Remote ICM, DIY Cold air, Rubber Vacuum System, Tranny cooler, Remote Tranny filter, Saginaw P\S swap, F350 Brakes, more.




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


(View-All Members who have read this thread : 11
90f150xltcenturion , BigBlue79 , Booba5185 , JSoko , mylife69 , Russo2 , scbill , Scorekeeper58 , stro , willd , windigowolf

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1995 f150 Instrument Cluster Mod - TEASER nine5flareside 1992-1996 Ford F150
5 January 30th, 2012 11:10 AM
95 instrument cluster swap = alternator not charging nightshade 1992-1996 Ford F150
6 January 27th, 2012 08:59 AM
Lightning Instrument Cluster Swap The Frankster 1992-1996 Ford F150
1 January 27th, 2012 08:54 AM
1980-1986 Instrument Cluster w/ tach BigBlue79 1980-1986 Ford Bronco
0 September 17th, 2011 06:17 PM
How To Center Shift Pointer Needle In F150 Instrument Cluster DIXIE FIX Garage Talk: Shop Class 101 5 November 28th, 2009 05:42 PM

Tags
1988 , cluster , f150 , instrument , question

Forum Jump









FordTruckClub.net is not authorized, endorsed or affiliated with the Ford Motor Company
or any of their subsidiaries. Ford® is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6 Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.