Quantcast first post! question on gauges - Ford Truck Club Forum




Home






Forum






Gallery






Garage






Blog






Arcade






Settings






New Posts






TOTM






Vote




Remember Me?
       Join for free!




Search






How-To's






Unanswered






FTC Toolbar






Social Sites






Register




 
Ford Truck Club Forum > FORD F-100 | F-150 SERIES > 1973-1991 Ford F150



Welcome to FordTruckClub.net
Welcome to FordTruckClub.net, the internet's premier Ford truck community! You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view discussions and access other forum features. By joining our free online community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Forgot your password? click here.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 27th, 2013, 04:56 AM
sprague's Avatar
sprague sprague is offline
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Likes : 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default first post! question on gauges

First off I'm Andrew, from baton rouge Louisiana. I drive a 91 f159 4.9, I was wondering if I could put in a factory gauge cluster with tach? Mine does not have a tach right now. Is it plug and play? And also, how do I turn the oil " idiot light gauge" into a real pressure gauge? It's terrifying how low that thing reads! It's in th "L" when I'm doing 70! Thanks in advance, I hope to be an active member.
  #2  
Old January 27th, 2013, 07:47 AM
JSoko's Avatar
JSoko JSoko is offline

 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Northwest Georgia
Posts: 15,012
Images: 629
Likes : 34
Liked 187 Times in 169 Posts
Default

I remember this being discussed, but dang if i can find it

do an intro in the New Members Section when ya get a chance


For Those Who Fought For It...
Freedom Has A Taste The Protected Will Never Know.













Last edited by JSoko; January 27th, 2013 at 07:57 AM.
  #3  
Old January 27th, 2013, 10:48 AM
Booba5185's Avatar
Booba5185 Booba5185 is offline
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ava, MO
Posts: 2,705
Images: 747
Likes : 13
Liked 31 Times in 28 Posts
Default

The Tach cluster is a complete plug and play swap. As far as the oil pressure gauge mod, you'll need the oil pressure sender from a Pre-1987 truck, and you'll need to bypass a resistor on the back of the cluster. When you pull the cluster at the junkyard, look at the back side of where the oil pressure gauge is. You should see a resistor, if you don't see a resistor there then look for another cluster that has one if you'd like to do the oil pressure gauge mod. Lemme see if I can find some pictures...

Here, resistor is about in the middle of the picture (the one on top):


To bypass it, you just run a wire from one side of the resistor to the other. After that, swap the sender on the block and you are done.


89 F-150 5.0l AOD 2x4, 3.55 LS(+4), Converted to HO Roller, 3g Alt, GT40Ps, Y-pipe, Rerouted PCV, Dual Taurus E-fans, Explorer Injectors, Remote ICM, DIY Cold air, Rubber Vacuum System, Tranny cooler, Remote Tranny filter, Saginaw P\S swap, F350 Brakes, more.



Last edited by Booba5185; January 27th, 2013 at 10:51 AM.
  #4  
Old January 27th, 2013, 09:38 PM
JSoko's Avatar
JSoko JSoko is offline

 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Northwest Georgia
Posts: 15,012
Images: 629
Likes : 34
Liked 187 Times in 169 Posts
Default

interesting about "you'll need to bypass a resistor"


For Those Who Fought For It...
Freedom Has A Taste The Protected Will Never Know.












  #5  
Old January 28th, 2013, 01:34 AM
Booba5185's Avatar
Booba5185 Booba5185 is offline
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ava, MO
Posts: 2,705
Images: 747
Likes : 13
Liked 31 Times in 28 Posts
Default

The stock setup uses a SWITCH on the engine, one that is on\off, nothing in between. Once the oil pressure hits 6-10 PSI, the switch is on. When the switch is "on" it completes the 12v circuit to the gauge (turns the gauge on). Since the oil pressure gauge is a 12volt gauge, the full 12 volts from the oil pressure SWITCH would cause it to peg all the way over to the highest side of the gauge. This resistor is in place to reduce that 12v to a lower voltage, probably around 4 or 5 volts. This way, when the SWITCH is "on" the gauge will show about 30-40%.

With this swap, you bypass that resistor, since you are putting a SENDER on the engine, which has a varying resistance based on oil pressure. So let's say your engine has 20 PSI oil pressure at idle, the sender will only provide a portion of this 12v circuit to the gauge, say 20-30% of 12 volts, so the gauge wouldn't peg all the way over, only go up 20-30% (with the resistor removed\bypassed of course). Lets say you are cruising down the highway and you have 40 PSI of oil pressure. Now the sender is completing 40-50% of the circuit, so the oil pressure gauge will go up to showing 40-50%.


89 F-150 5.0l AOD 2x4, 3.55 LS(+4), Converted to HO Roller, 3g Alt, GT40Ps, Y-pipe, Rerouted PCV, Dual Taurus E-fans, Explorer Injectors, Remote ICM, DIY Cold air, Rubber Vacuum System, Tranny cooler, Remote Tranny filter, Saginaw P\S swap, F350 Brakes, more.


  #6  
Old January 28th, 2013, 02:34 AM
sprague's Avatar
sprague sprague is offline
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Likes : 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks so much! New gauges shall be acquired!
  #7  
Old January 28th, 2013, 09:31 PM
JSoko's Avatar
JSoko JSoko is offline

 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Northwest Georgia
Posts: 15,012
Images: 629
Likes : 34
Liked 187 Times in 169 Posts
Default

I understand why now, thanks


For Those Who Fought For It...
Freedom Has A Taste The Protected Will Never Know.














Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


(View-All Members who have read this thread : 10
90f150xltcenturion , ASwaff400 , bikertrash3531 , Booba5185 , cotton , JCruz , JSoko , Russo2 , Scorekeeper58 , sprague

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Customize Your Dash & Gauges From Intellitronix Gearz Gearz 2 July 16th, 2012 10:03 PM
Exhaust Tips / Quick Tips - Drill Depth Gauges [S5 Ep.2-4] Gearz Gearz 0 December 17th, 2011 06:51 AM
New Auto Meter Gauges nine5flareside Garage Talk: Engine & Drivetrain 10 May 27th, 2011 05:37 AM
Gauges. Russo2 1973-1991 Ford F150
6 April 3rd, 2011 11:30 PM
Dual Gas Tanks Prob. w/gauges 3gear9 1992-1996 Ford F150
1 January 18th, 2011 04:32 AM

Tags
gauges , post , question

Forum Jump









FordTruckClub.net is not authorized, endorsed or affiliated with the Ford Motor Company
or any of their subsidiaries. Ford® is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6 Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.